Africa's Heartland
Southern Emotions
Ecotourism
Flash
Information
Our Agency & Contacts
© 2003 Mistral Voyages, Libreville Gabon, All Rights reserved
Website designed & updated by -      - Optimised for 800 X 600


The region of Franceville in southeastern Gabon, is located between the forest area and the savannah plateaux. This characteristic gives it a more interesting diversity, and the region shall most certainly become a main centre of ecotourism.
In the National Park there are several tourist welcome projects, including the John Aspinall Foundation site, which takes care of reinserting orphan gorillas into nature.
Today we can always visit the plateaux located to the east of the small town called Lékoni and its canyons formed by the erosion into the sandy soil. This is also a remarkable area for birds, and amateur bird watchers never miss this place.



Grand canyon
Next
 




Batéké plateaux
Stay in Lékoni
Flights from Libreville every day for the Franceville airport, where you must then rent a 4-wheel drive. The Lékoni Hotel is a small business which is very successful, and which is a practical place to stay because of its proximity to the Lékoni Circus – also called the Grand Canyon. You can easily get lost on the plateaux, and you absolutely must have a chauffeur with you who knows the region. In addition to the Grand Canyon, you can also discover the Green Canyon, the Ghost Canyon and the White Canyon.
Top
Next

 

 

 

The Lékédi Park
Located to the south of Moanda and Franceville, the Lékédi Park is the successful result of an astonishing reconversion project. Bakoumba – the city of the longest mono-cable car in the world (76 km) has become a ‘nature’ town within a few years. Used to the best, Bakoumba has received a park with 14,000 hectares surrounded by 87 km of fencing.
Sodépal – created by the Comilog Company, has been quickly setting up economic activities: fish culture, the raising of wild animals, ecotourism… which will be followed by other activities – the production of mushrooms, roof tiles,



Back
Top
Next

 

 

 


Lékédi park restaurant

 

pottery, the weaving of raphia fibers, etc… Dynamism, creativity, originality, business creators and managers are in abundance in Lékédi.
Visiting the park and fish culture ponds, watching the animals when driving, walking , from the Mioula Bridge, from the shelters on pillars or from a boat going around the island of chimpanzees – you can’t be bored for a minute during your stay in Bakoumba.
Lodging is offered in the former premises now renovated of the directors of the cable car.

Back
Top
Next

 

 

 

Comfortable bedrooms and 3 or 4-room houses for families, air-conditioning, bathrooms, restaurant, swimming pool, tennis, library and medical service – nothing is missing.

For economic as well as ecological reasons, the cable car equipment has been recycled in a thousand different ways: it now serves as an observation point for watching animals, the ties of the railway used as fence posts, the raising of young fish in the aluminium tanks, and the most spectacular – a 30-meter high suspended bridge extending 360 meters in length using the cable car cables, all overlooking


Liana bridge

Back
Top
Next

 

 

 
the forest and a vast area where there is a colony of mandrills!
There is also a project for the reinsertion of chimpanzees on a small island in the lake and a vivarium has been created.

Stay in Lékédi Park

There are flights every day from Libreville to Mvengué – the Franceville airport, where you then go to Bakoumba by car. Your stay includes all meals and also visits of the various zones and activities of the park. We advise 2 days minimum, and then return by plane.

By train and plain: the best way is the fast day train on Tuesday which takes 8 hours to reach Moanda. To return, you go back to the Mvengué Airport for the flight back to Libreville.

The price includes train and/or plane tickets, road transportation to Bakoumba, lodging and complete meals and tourist outings. An option is the excursion to the Swinging Liana Bridge and the Poubara Waterfalls.


Back
Top
Next
 

 

 

 






This tourist site is included in
the following tours:

[ Ornithology tour  |  Discovering Gabon ]

To fill our information form
Mandrill

 
Back
Top

Coeur d'Afrique
Emotions Australes
Ecotourisme
Flash
Renseignements
Notre Agence & Contacts
© 2003 Mistral Voyages, Libreville Gabon, All Rights reserved
Website designed & updated by -      - Optimised for 800 X 600


La région de Franceville au sud-est du Gabon est située à cheval sur des zones forestières et de savanes-plateaux. Cette caractéristique lui donne une diversité des plus intéressante et la région est appelée à devenir un centre majeur d’intérêt écotouristique.

Dans le Parc National existe plusieurs projets d’accueil touristique dont le site de la fondation John Aspinall qui s’occupe de recueillir et de réinsérer les gorilles orphelins.



Grand canyon
Suivant
 




Plateaux Batékés



Actuellement, on peut toutefois visiter les plateaux situés à l’est de la petite ville de Lékoni et ses canyons creusés par l’érosion dans les sols sableux. Il s’agit également d’un site remarquable pour les oiseaux et les amateurs d’ornithologie ne manquent jamais cette étape.
Haut
Suivant

 

 

 

Séjour à Lékoni :

Vols au départ de Libreville tous les jours pour l’aéroport de Franceville à partir duquel il faut avoir réservé un 4x4 de location. L’hôtel de Lékoni est un petit établissement très bien tenu et qui constitue une base pratique par sa proximité du Cirque de Lékoni appelé aussi le Grand Canyon. On se perd facilement sur les plateaux et il est indispensable d’avoir avec soi un chauffeur connaissant la région. Outre le Grand Canyon, on pourra aussi découvrir le Canyon Vert, le Canyon Fantôme et le Canyon Blanc.



Prédédant
Haut
Suivant

 

 

 


Restaurant et piscine (Parc Lékédi)

 

Le Parc de la Lékédi

Situé au sud de Moanda et de Franceville, le Parc de la Lékédi est le résultat réussi d’un étonnant projet de reconversion. Bakoumba, la cité du téléphérique monocâble le plus long du monde (76km) est devenu en quelques années la ville « nature ». Habituée au superlatif, Bakoumba se voit dotée d’un parc de 14.000 hectares entouré de 87 km de grillage.


Prédédant
Haut
Suivant

 

 

 

La Sodépal, crée par la Sté Comilog, met en place rapidement des activités économiques : pisciculture, élevage de faune de forêt, écotourisme qui seront suivis d’autres expériences : production de pleurotes, tuilerie, poterie, tissage de raphia etc… Dynamisme, créativité, originalité, les réalisateurs et gestionnaires de la Lékédi n’en manquent pas.

Visite du parc et des bassins de pisciculture, observation des animaux en voiture, à pied, du pont de Mioula, dans les abris sur pylône ou en bateau autour de l’île des chimpanzés, one ne s’ennuie pas une minute durant un séjour à Bakoumba.

Pont de Liane de Poubara

Prédédant
Haut
Suivant

 

 

 
L’hébergement est assuré dans les anciens locaux rénovés de la cité des cadres du téléphérique. Chambres confortables et maisons de 3 et 4 pièces pour les familles, climatisation, salles d’eau/wc, restaurant, piscine, tennis, bibliothèque et service médical, rien ne manque.
Pour des raisons à la fois économiques et écologiques, les matériaux du téléphérique sont recyclés de mille façons : pylônes d’observation des animaux, poteaux de clôture en traverse de chemins de fer, élevage d’alevins dans les bennes d’aluminium et le plus spectaculaire : un pont suspendu à 30 mètres de haut sur 360 mètres de long,

en câble du téléphérique, surplombant la canopée et un vaste enclos où vivent une colonie de mandrills ! Une expérience de réinsertion de chimpanzés est aussi réalisé dans une petite île sur le lac et un vivarium est crée.

Séjour au Parc de la Lékédi
En avion : Vols tous les jours au départ de Libreville pour Mvengué, l’aéroport de Franceville puis transfert en voiture à Bakoumba. Séjour en pension complète et visites des différentes zones et activités du Parc. 2 jours minimum sont conseillés. Retour par avion.

Prédédant
Haut
Suivant
 

 

 

 

En train et avion : La meilleure formule est le train express de jour du mardi qui met 8 heures pour atteindre Moanda. Au retour, transfert à Mvengué pour le vol de Libreville.

Les forfaits comprennent le transport train et/ou avion, les transferts jusqu’à Bakoumba, le séjour en pension complète et les visites. En option : excursion au Pont de Liane et aux chutes de Poubara.

Ce Site touristique est inclus dans les circuits suivant :
[ Ornithologique  |  Découverte du Gabon ]

Pour remplir le formulaire de Renseignements
Jeune mandrill

 
Prédédant
Haut